Latest topics
» Area Alzheimer’s Rates Set to Rise
Today at 5:32 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Anonymous - How Did America Not See This Coming...
Today at 5:28 pm by PurpleSkyz

» The REAL Eyes Wide Shut
Today at 4:04 pm by Consciousness Of Economic

» 6 Signs of MK-Ultra [Documentary 2018]
Today at 3:46 pm by Consciousness Of Economic

» Inner Earth Civilizations Exist and I Can Prove It: Agartha & Hollow Earth
Today at 3:11 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Heather Ann Tucci Jarraf Sentencing Play by Play in the Court Room!
Today at 1:17 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Who Is Q?: We Interviewed The Anons Themselves To Get To The Heart of the Mystery
Today at 1:15 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Corey Goode | Update and Public Statement on recent events
Today at 1:12 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Synchronicity Or Animal Guardians?
Today at 12:56 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Gigantic Hidden Megaliths Found In Orkney?
Today at 12:52 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Breaking News: A Dozen New Moons Of Jupiter JUST Discovered
Today at 12:50 pm by PurpleSkyz

» COMPASS GROUPS CORPORATE PLEDGE....Re: Anna
Today at 12:45 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Two Important Links to Share, Share, Share.... By Anna Von Reitz plus more
Today at 12:44 pm by PurpleSkyz

» NIBIRU News ~ Planet X US Navy Whistleblowers Say Nibiru is Incoming plus MORE
Today at 9:41 am by PurpleSkyz

» Karen Hudes ~ Network of Global Corporate Control 7 17 18
Today at 9:35 am by PurpleSkyz

» 100 year flood in Flagstaff AZ - Eerie Tsunami Spain - *Florida Flood Improving*
Today at 9:34 am by PurpleSkyz

» Five-foot "meteotsunami" strikes Spanish resorts in Majorca and Menorca
Today at 9:31 am by PurpleSkyz

» Giant Inca Acoustic Resonance Site At Moray In Peru?
Today at 9:28 am by PurpleSkyz

» Bright Meteor Fireball Streaks Over Campinas, Brazil
Today at 9:24 am by PurpleSkyz

» Strange 'extraterrestrial' skull discovered in Peru
Today at 9:22 am by PurpleSkyz

» The Grolier Codex: the oldest manuscript in America
Today at 9:18 am by PurpleSkyz

» Max Igan on The Infinite Fringe - TFR - July 16, 2018
Today at 9:15 am by PurpleSkyz

» UFO News ~ Disk-shaped UFO goes in and out the water of Lake Michigan plus MORE
Today at 9:02 am by PurpleSkyz

» Seth Rich Story- Full Recap and New Eyewitness Account
Today at 8:48 am by PurpleSkyz

» CROP CIRCLE 2018 - Muncombe Hill, Nr Kingweston, Somerset
Yesterday at 9:53 pm by PurpleSkyz


CLICK THE SUBSCRIBE BUTTON BELOW TO RECEIVE OUR DAILY NEWSLETTER

A 2ND EMAIL COMPLETES THE ACTIVATION PROCESS




CLICK THE PURPLE BUTTON TO VIEW OUR LATEST POSTS



You are not connected. Please login or register

Out Of Mind » SOLAR & PLANETARY ALERTS & INFO » ATMOSPHERIC CHANGES » Last full moon of season this weekend

Last full moon of season this weekend

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Last full moon of season this weekend on Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:27 am

PurpleSkyz

avatar
Admin
Last full moon of season this weekend
By Bruce McClure in Tonight | March 11, 2017



Tonight – March 11, 2017 – the moon is almost but not quite full. This will be the third full moon of 2017 and the last full moon of this season. For us in North America (except Alaska) the moon will turn full during the morning daylight hours on March 12, when the full moon is beneath our horizon. Even so, tonight’s moon will look plenty full as it lights up the nighttime from sundown to sunup.
We in North America call the March full moon the Worm Moon, Crow Moon or Sap Moon. Click here for Southern Hemisphere full moon names. Because this upcoming full moon is the last full moon of the winter season for us in the the Northern Hemisphere, it’s also known as the Lenten Moon in the Christian liturgical calendar.

Last night’s moon – March 10, 2017 – rising over Mount Ascutney, Vermont. Photo by Ray Mandra.
For all of us, this full moon is also the closest to the March 20 equinox. It’ll be the Northern Hemisphere’s spring equinox; however, if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere, it’s your autumn equinox and thus this full moon is your Harvest Moon.
No matter where you are on Earth, tonight’s full moon will rise in the east around sunset, climb highest up for the night around midnight and set in the west around sunrise.
And – no matter your location – tonight’s full moon will appear round and full to the eye all night long.

Last night’s moon – March 10, 2017 – from our friend Patrick Casaert of La Lune The Moon.
Astronomically speaking, however, the moon is only full for a well-defined instant, when it’s opposite the sun in Earth’s sky (180o away from the sun in ecliptic longitude). The moon reaches the crest of its full phase on Sunday, March 12, at 14:54 Universal Time.
At time zones in North America, that means the full moon falls on March 12, at 11:54 a.m. ADT, 10:54 a.m. EDT, 9:54 a.m. CDT, 8:54 a.m. MDT, 7:54 a.m. PDT and 6:54 a.m. AKDT (Alaska Daylight Saving Time).
So Sunday night’s moon – though actually waning for us in the Americas – will look full, too!
Read more: 10 tips to ease into Daylight Saving Time

Worldwide map via EarthView. The day and night sides of Earth at the instant of the March full moon (2017 March 12 at 14:54 Universal Time). The shadow line at left indicates sunrise March 12 (where the moon is setting in the west) and the the shadow line at right represents sunset March 12 (where the moon is rising in the east).
Bottom line: The March 2017 full moon counts as the third of three full moons in between the December solstice and the March equinox. Watch it shine throughout the night, as the season’s final full moon is a welcome harbinger of spring for the Northern Hemisphere, and gives the Southern Hemisphere its Harvest Moon.

Thanks to: http://earthsky.org



  

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum