Latest topics
» MASSIVE Inflation Cover-Up.. An EXTERMINATION. By Gregory Mannarino
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 12:24 pm by Consciousness Of Economic

» Robert Kennedy Jr Silenced at Harlem Vaccine Forum Event
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 9:33 am by PurpleSkyz

» CIVIL UNREST IS ERUPTING ALL OVER THE WORLD, BUT JUST WAIT UNTIL THE UNITED STATES JOINS THE PARTY
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 8:49 am by PurpleSkyz

» Cloud UFO Moves Through Parking Lot In Virginia Scaring The Heck Out Of Eyewitnesses lol
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 8:45 am by PurpleSkyz

» Mystery surrounds London's 'Havering Hoard'
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 8:41 am by PurpleSkyz

» Assange Denied Request To Delay Extradition Hearing; Prepares To Fight “Unprecedented” Charges
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 8:09 am by PurpleSkyz

» NIBIRU News ~ Our star's companion is approaching the inner planets of the Solar System plus MORE
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 8:04 am by PurpleSkyz

» Body Language – Buzz Aldrin Pilot On The Apollo 11 Mission
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyToday at 7:58 am by PurpleSkyz

» Thousands of Hong Kongers March Despite Police Ban, Days After Assault on Prominent Activist
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 9:44 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Something weird falls from the sky during lightning storm in San Antonio
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 9:37 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Dane Wigington - Geoengineering: ITNJ Video Testimony
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 9:30 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Anna Von Reitz Joins The MarkZ Scam Call 2 PM EST! 10/22/19
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 8:31 pm by RamblerNash

» Mandatory Evacuations Ordered As Palisades Fire Threatens Hundreds of Homes
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 3:26 pm by PurpleSkyz

» Bob Lazar, a total fraud or a reluctant disinformant?
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 8:52 am by PurpleSkyz

» Extinction Rebellion - Rebels For The 1% - David Icke
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox EmptyYesterday at 8:50 am by PurpleSkyz

CURRENT MOON

You are not connected. Please login or register

OUT OF MIND » PLANET AWARENESS » GUIDE TO THE NIGHT SKY » Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox

Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox Empty Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox on Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:57 am

PurpleSkyz

PurpleSkyz
Admin
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox
By Bruce McClure in Tonight | March 20, 2019
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox Full-moon-long-beach-CA-e1395069240935


  • Mar 17 - Mar 23



Photo above: Bruce Tennant captured the March 2014 full moon rising over Santiago Peak, Alamitos Bay, Long Beach, California.
The March 20-21, 2019, full moon ushers in the first full moon of spring for the Northern Hemisphere, and the first full moon of autumn for the Southern Hemisphere. This full moon is also a supermoon, particularly close to Earth. It comes less than four hours after the arrival of the March 20 equinox.
This is the closest coincidence of a full moon with the March equinox since March 2000 – 19 years ago. The full moon and March equinox won’t happen less than one day apart again for another 11 years, or until March 2030.
March 2000 full Moon: March 20 at 4:44 UTC
March 2000 equinox: March 20 at 7:35 UTC
March 2030 full moon: March 19 at 17:56 UTC
March 2030 equinox: March 20 at 13:51 UTC
This month’s full moon also presents the third and final supermoon of 2019. Will it appear bigger in your sky? No, not unless you happen to catch the moon just after it has risen in the east, around sunset. Then its larger-than-usual size has less to do with the supermoon, but more from a psychological effect known as the moon illusion.
Supermoons don’t look bigger to the eye to most people, but they do look significantly brighter. If you’re in the suburbs or a rural area, notice the bright moonlight cast on the landscape at this full moon.
Also, supermoons have a stronger-than-usual effect on Earth’s oceans. Watch for higher-than-usual tides to follow the supermoon by a day or so, especially if a coastal storm is happening in your part of the world.
This March supermoon isn’t 2019’s closest supermoon, by the way. That happened last month. See photos of last month’s supermoon.
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox Exquinox2019SuperMoon_poster-e1552729680909
The Virtual Telescope Project will show the March 20 supermoon live, as it rises above the skyline of Rome. Click here for more info.
At U.S. time zones, the equinox arrives on March 20, at 5:58 p.m. EDT, 4:58 p.m. CDT, 3:58 p.m. MDT, 2:58 p.m. PDT, 1:58 p.m. AKDT and 11:58 a.m. HST.
At U.S. time zones, the full moon falls on March 20, at 9:43 p.m. EDT, 8:43 p.m. CDT, 7:43 p.m. MDT, 6:43 p.m. PDT, 5:43 p.m. AKDT and 3:43 p.m. HST.
In Universal Time, the equinox arrives on March 20, at 21:58 UTC, and the full moon comes on March 21, at 1:43 UTC. Here’s how to convert Universal Time to your local time.
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox Equinox-suns-rays-800x525
At the equinox, the sun is at zenith (straight overhead) at the Earth’s equator. Because the Earth’s atmosphere refracts (bends) sunlight, a tiny bit more than half of the globe is covered over in daylight.
Generally, the first full moon of a Northern Hemisphere spring heralds the imminent coming of the Christian celebration of Easter. Since Easter Sunday – by proclamation – occurs on the first Sunday after the first full moon in spring, some of us might expect the upcoming Sunday on March 24 to be Easter Sunday. However, by ecclesiastical rules, the equinox is fixed on March 21, so that places this year’s Easter Sunday (for Western Christendom) on April 21, 2019.
By the Gregorian calendar, the last time that an ecclesiastical Easter and an astronomical Easter didn’t occur on the same date was 38 years ago, in 1981. The next time won’t be until 19 years from now, in 2038.
(Easter Sunday for Eastern or Orthodox Christendom actually falls on April 28, 2019. That’s because the Eastern Church bases Easter on the old style Julian calendar, instead of the revised Gregorian calendar used by Western Christianity and most of the world.)
For our friends in the Southern Hemisphere, this March full moon counts as your Harvest Moon. The Harvest Moon is the full moon occurring closest to the autumnal equinox. On the average, the moon rises about 50 minutes later with each passing day. But for several days around the time of the Harvest Moon, the lag time between successive moonrises is reduced to a yearly minimum. For instance, at 40 degrees south latitude, the moon now rises some 30 to 35 minutes later (instead of the average 50 minutes later) each day for the next several days.
Full supermoon at March 2019 equinox Saturn-at-equinox-800x426
Like Earth, Saturn has equinoxes too! The ringed planet last had an equinox in 2009, and will have its next equinox in 2025. From Earth, Saturn’s rings disappear from view at a Saturn equinox, because these rings are then edge-on from our vantage point. But this near-equinox view of Saturn’s rings is readily visible from the Cassini spacecraft, because it’s 20 degrees above the ring plane. Image via NASA.
Here in the Northern Hemisphere, where it’s the closest full moon to the spring equinox, the lag time between successive moonrises is at a yearly maximum. At 40 degrees north latitude, the moon now rises around 70 to 75 minutes later daily. In the Northern Hemisphere, we ‘ll have to wait for the September full moon to bring forth our procession of early evening moonrises.
Last but hardly least, this March 2019 full moon gives us the first of four full moons in one season (between the March equinox and June solstice). Most of the time, a season – the time period between an equinox and a solstice, or vice versa – only harbors three full moons. But since this March full moon comes very early in the season, that allows for a fourth full moon to take place before the season’s end.
March 2019 equinox: March 20 at 21:58 UTC
March 2019 full moon: March 21 at 1:43 UTC
April 2019 full moon: April 19 at 11:12 UTC
May 2019 full moon: May 18 at 21:11 UTC
June 2019 full moon: June 17 at 8:31 UTC
June 2019 solstice: June 21 at 15:54 UTC
Some people call the third of four full moons in one season a Blue Moon. So our next Blue Moon (by the seasonal definition of the term) will fall on May 18, 2019.
The next Blue Moon by the monthly definition – second of two full moons in one calendar month – will come on October 31, 2020.
Resources:
Astronomical and Gregorian Easter Sunday
Phases of the moon: 1901 to 2000
Phases of the moon: 2001 to 2100
Solstices and equinoxes: 2001 to 2100
Equinox and solstice calculator
Bottom line: Enjoy the equinox full moon on March 20-21, 2019. It’s the third and final full supermoon of 2019, and the first of four full moons in the upcoming season (spring for the Northern Hemisphere, autumn for the Southern Hemisphere).

https://earthsky.org/tonight/full-supermoon-on-march-2019-equinox?utm_source=EarthSky+News&utm_campaign=45d667a46e-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2018_02_02_COPY_01&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_c643945d79-45d667a46e-393775709

Thanks to: https://earthsky.org



  

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum